He sings to me

When the wolves in my soul are howling louder than the silence in my other space

He sings to me

When the rain on my roof drowns the rain on my pillow

He sings to me

When the windy mountains echo the sound of my night terrors

He sings to me

When the cries of a million souls are crushing my walls of fortune

He sings to me

When he suspects the voices in my head are about to get louder than usual

He sings to me

He makes sweet music with his lips

His mouth whistles the shadows away

His fingers find my chords

His hands follow my rhythm

His body cradles my curves

And he makes sweet music to me

Like a new instrument, he breaks me in

And finds the melody within the melancholy

He unveils the lyrics behind my delirium

He knows a harmony to the beating of my heart and his

He haunts my soul and makes it all better

And then he sounds the drums to alert the gods

This one is mine, he sings triumphantly

This one is mine don’t you even dare

There is a story of a girl just like me

In the lullaby that

He sings to me

-Mpinga-

Leave a Reply

