It is not complicated

When simple left town
To come home to me
She brought no bags
She wore no ornaments
Just a drink in her hand
How did she carry it all the way?

Simple wanted a place to chill
Maybe a while maybe two
She looked me up and down and said
Girl I don’t know of you
I closed my eyes to remember
Where I had last seen this stranger

Simple sat me down
Braided a coin into my hair
Cleaned my nails with a wire
And fetched water in her hands
A sense of simultaneous déjà-vu
Reminded us we were twins

Simple never left once she settled
But she likes to hide and it’s not a game
She thinks the sun is too harsh at times
And the rain can be too long it seems
Simple knows me like birds know trees
And she sees me like kids see God

-Mpinga-

One thought on “It is not complicated

Leave a Reply

