A day that should have been longer.

Dear Sun,

Early this morning you showed up at my doorstep, at my window, in my sky, and with a light kiss gently woke me up and warmed my world. Chasing the night with your light, and keeping the moon tightly safe, so she can shine on later when she is ready.

When you smiled at me later, mid morning, you brightened even the darkest corners of my house. Shining bright into the hidden places and reminding me there is solace in the familiar.


At your zenith you were still gentle. Holding me tight and reminding me to store up some strength. You encouraged me to look inside, and find my own light within.


In the evening I felt you fade away. But you reminded me that a light as bright as you never fades. You protected my heart. You keep my bones warm. You lit my way.

But when night fell I froze. I promise I did not forget what you showed me but you were missing from me. There was a you-shaped emptyness in my sky and I was lost. Having a hard time believing that your setting here only means your rising on the other side.

” Ah, it’s been a year now
Think I’ve figured out how
How to think about you without it rippin’ my heart out”

-Mpinga-

Categories:

Leave a comment